RightHaven LLC Suing forums and bloggers over Copyrighted newspaper articles...

Status
Not open for further replies.

BirdOPrey5

I don't know how much you guys may already know about this situation but I searched this forum for "RightHaven" and "Right Haven" and didn't get any results so maybe it was never discussed here.

From my understanding RightHaven LLC is a Las Vegas based LLC opened by a lawyer. RightHaven LLC searches the internet for newspaper articles from lvrj.com (Las Vegas Review Journal) then when they find a blog or forum that has posted all or part of a story, obtains the rights to the story, then sues the domain owner with no warning or take down notice. They sue for $75,000 and forfeiture of the domain name, but have never gone to trial, they settle for a few thousand dollars. They are working on making partnerships with other newspapers that post content online.

As a forum owner myself this scares me... I'm no lawyer but in the past I've held my own in legal matters. I read their complaint in full and one of the sticking points seems to be that the offending website claims Copyright of all material on their site, so they are claiming Copyright on articles that aren't their own. For what it's worth I changed the Copyright notice on my site to only claim Copyright on original material and acknowledge not all material on the site is original and that unoriginal material remains Copyright of their respective owners.