Rental Increase

DaniiRoundtree

Jurisdiction
Georgia
Hi,

I've been renting out a room for 5 months to a tenant on a month to month basis. Originally the tenant told me they'd be moving in March- that was two months ago. We have a written agreement. I previously informed the tenant that I was possibly looking to move once my lease was up. I decided to stay and my rent has gone up. Originally I agreed for the renter to pay $600 on a month to month basis because I thought it was short term. I typically split everything with renters. Since my lease is up for a renewal, my rent has increased. I have asked my tenant to renegotiate the terms of the month to month agreement for a split of the new rental payment which is $773.88. I gave the renter 15 days ago. I'd like to know what my rights are regarding this manner. The renter is refusing to pay the new rental amount and sign a new agreement. The renter is also refusing to grant me a 30 day written notice prior to vacating. They want a 15 day notice which I don't believe is lawful.

We have a written agreement.

A written agreement that says what, exactly?

A specific duration, like X number of months or "from - to" dates?

Or "you just pay me X dollars per month" with no termination date written in.

That's very important with regard to the question about notice.

Here is the agreement

Room Accommodation Agreement

An agreement to rent accommodation at (the premises) made on (date) December 10, 2016 (1) Name of occupant:

Name of Accommodation Provider:

Address of landlord if not the same as above at 'the premises':Address the same

Accommodation providers contact phone number:

The Accommodation Provider Agrees To: Provide and maintain the premises in good order and condition. Allow the occupant access to and use of the bedroom (as inspected) and: ( applicable) Kitchen Family Room, Laundry Bathroom/toilet.

Allow the occupant:

Privacy and unconditional access to the room and described facilities.