Shoplifting, Larceny, Robbery, Theft Recently caught shoplifting... =/

Status
Not open for further replies.

nissan1234

Sometime last week I was caught shoplifting at Store Name, I don't know why I did it, I just got greedy and ended up stealing. I was approached by LP as I left the store and I was taken to the back office. Here they got all my information and then called a cop to site me for petty theft and having . I have a court date next month and need to go get pre-booked as well. This is my first attempt and I have a clean record besides a speeding ticket. I am 20 years old and I live in CA. The total amount was about 80 dollars and I need some advice as to:

- Do I need a lawyer?
- Is there anyway I can get this off of my record?
- What are some of the fines/penalties I'm looking at.

Please help me out. I extremely regret making this bad decision and would hope that I can have this 'petty theft' taken off my record so it doesn't hurt my future employment. I'm really worried and do not want to involve my parents in anyway, this would only put more stress on them.

Anyone with previous experience, how did things turn out for you?

Sorry it is a bit long, thanks for the help.

Do I need a lawyer?
Yes
- Is there anyway I can get this off of my record?
If your county has a Diversion or ACD program yes you can possibly get this off your record talkto your Attorney about this option
- What are some of the fines/penalties I'm looking at.
This varies but here is general idea
.fines less than $500.00
.probation for six months to a year
.community service

There could be additional items like classes or other things but the above is the general rulings