Question: Is it Legal to attend a public school for a day?

Greg Stoger

Jurisdiction
New Jersey
I was curious if I could attend a public school for the day. Currently, I'm a student in school in Trenton, however, next year, I'll be moving to Montclair. I wanted to see what going to school there is like and how the environment is. Regardless, can I call this school and request a visit? Are they obligated to give me a chance to see what things are like there for a day? Or am I supposed to just go in blind for next year? If I call and get no response, is it okay to just show up in the morning and attend classes?

In any case, I was hoping you all could lend some insight into the legality of going into a public school for the day.

can I call this school and request a visit?

Your parents must make the call and the request if you aren't 18 years of age today.

If you are already 18 years of age, or will be 18 years of age tomorrow, you can make the call and ask.

Currently, I'm a student in school in Trenton, however, next year, I'll be moving to Montclair.

Your IP address reveals you're posting from Cleveland, Ohio.

A NJ school district owes you NO legal obligation.

You are a resident of Ohio, not NJ.

Again, if you area minor, your parents must make the call.

These days you must be prepared to show POSITIVE ID, meaning US gubmint or state gubmint issued ID with your picture.

A background check will be conducted to make sure you (and your parents) aren't prohibited from being around CHILDREN/MINORS.

Are they obligated to give me a chance to see what things are like there for a day?

They aren't obligated to do anything for you, as you don't reside in their district.

My wife is a high school principal, and their district encourages transferring students and their parents to visit their campuses and learn about the school.

Ask politely and you shall very often receive.

Or am I supposed to just go in blind for next year?

You could do that, too.