Question about sound-alike music

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnnyz

I'm an indepenant musician who is in the the middle of recording an album; one of the songs to be recorded (an instrumental) has an introduction that is reminiscent of The Godfather theme - by that I mean that the introduction uses similar instrumentation (classical guitar, strings, and mandolin) and has a similar tempo and feel (although the melody and chord progression in the intro are completely different from The Godfather theme). The rest of the song plays the same melody and chord progression using a different tempo, feel, and instrumentation - we just wanted the intro to have kind of an Italian flavor to it. Would what I just described be considered a sound-alike and would it also be considered copyright infringement in regards to the Godfather theme even if the melody and chord progression are different?

Last edited:
If you recognize the similarity, the song's owner's will see it, too!

You might want to rethink using the song.

People get sued everyday.

Thanks for the input!

If push came to shove I would just redo the intro rather than throw away the entire song. Yes I do recognize the similarity, but I think that's mostly due to the mandolin tremolo effect that we use in the song (a very clichéd element of traditional Italian music which is also heard in the Godfather theme, hence the association). If I remove the mandolin part then the similarity to the Godfather theme seems to disappear as well. Does this mean that no one else can record original music that uses the same instrumentation and stylistic elements as in the Godfather theme for fear of copyright infringement? I don't know - I guess I'm also implicitly asking that question as well.

Last edited:
Thanks for the input!