1. Free Legal Help, Legal Forms and Lawyers. TheLaw.com has been providing free legal assistance online since 1995. Our most popular destinations for legal help are below. It only takes a minute to join our legal community!

    Dismiss Notice

Possession of less than 3 ounces of marijuana Alcohol & Drugs: MIP, MIC, Intoxication

Discussion in 'Criminal Charges' started by Vallery Young, Jun 13, 2019.

  1. Vallery Young

    Vallery Young Law Topic Starter New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Jurisdiction:
    Texas
    My granddaughter was stopped as a passenger & charged & jailed with less than 3 ounces of marijuana. First offense. What should she expect when she goes to court.
     
  2. mightymoose

    mightymoose Moderator

    Messages:
    10,564
    Likes Received:
    1,623
    Trophy Points:
    113

    Fines, probation, maybe a drug class to attend. Being a first offense she may have some luck keeping it off her record. Her attorney can give her the best idea what to expect.
     
  3. justblue

    justblue Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    391
    Trophy Points:
    63

    This is something she should discuss with her attorney. NO ONE should be discussing her criminal case on the net.
     
    hrforme and Zigner like this.
  4. army judge

    army judge Super Moderator

    Messages:
    30,858
    Likes Received:
    4,379
    Trophy Points:
    113

    In Texas one would be wise to NOT use any illegal drugs, including weed.
     
    hrforme likes this.
  5. Dubdidit

    Dubdidit New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Where i am from the da refuses to prosecute weed cases. Its ridiculous. Its illegalnin the state and in the county....but he has no damn respect for the law
     
  6. adjusterjack

    adjusterjack Super Moderator

    Messages:
    6,870
    Likes Received:
    1,567
    Trophy Points:
    113

    First time she got caught.

    Possession of 2oz or less of Marijuana in Texas is a Class B Misdemeanor offense, with penalties of up to 180 days in jail, and fines of $2000.

    However, in most cases, being caught with only a small amount of pot will result in probation, with mandatory drug treatment, and the potential to have the charged dismissed after a successful treatment program.

    You will also face a 6 month loss of drivers license for any marijuana possession charge if you are convicted.

    If you are in possession of more than 2oz, up to 5lbs of marijuana, it is a Class A Misdemeanor. Such an offense can result in penalties of up 1 year in jail, and fines of $4000.

    I hope this scares the crap out of her so she can stop making bad choices that can screw up the rest of her life.

    Amen to that.
     
  7. justblue

    justblue Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    391
    Trophy Points:
    63

    This thread is over 3 months old and the original poster has not been back. Check the dates of the thread before posting.
     
  8. adjusterjack

    adjusterjack Super Moderator

    Messages:
    6,870
    Likes Received:
    1,567
    Trophy Points:
    113

    Dang. That goes for me, too. :oops:
     
  9. justblue

    justblue Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    391
    Trophy Points:
    63

    You wouldn't have posted had dubdiditty not dug up the thread.
     

Share This Page