Photographer Rights

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roadvoyeur

I am a semi-professional photographer, and have recently been contacted from a previous female model concerning photos that I took of her more than 20yrs ago. I did not get a model release form signed from her at the time the photos were taken, but she modeled for me with her consent and willingly. I have not used the photos for re-sale or any other means to profit from them, and have only used them in online Model/Photographer sites as part of my Portfolio..
She has informed me that she now demands ALL photos of her that I have in my possession immeditately and she has informed me that she now has legal counsel.. Am I obligated to return All photos and or CD disks containing her photos? Do I have any legal rights here? There was no money exchanged at the time the photos were taken as she was then a friend and did the modeling willingly and under no stress.

Any help or advice here would be greatly helpful..

I`m just curious if I am obligated to return her photos? or if I own the negatives. There was never a model release signed, but I`m under the understanding that I still Own the photos and negatives and can agree not to sell them or use them if she requests that, but wondering if by law I have to return them to her. Does anyone know if this is true or not..