Pay increase before teacher contract ratification

Status
Not open for further replies.

irish223

I am a teacher in an Illinois school district. Our teachers' union recently negotiated a tentative agreement with the school board. The contract language has not yet been approved by the union bargaining team, so it hasn't been put before the members for a ratification vote. Nevertheless, the district increased our pay to reflect the new salary schedule in the tentative agreement. In previous bargaining years, our pay was not increased until ratification, and the district paid the increase retroactively.

Many of our members are unhappy with the contract, so ratification was not guaranteed. However, now that the district has increased our pay, we have been told that if the contract is not ratified, the district will deduct the raises from our pay until we have bargained another contract.

Is this correct? The union had no knowledge of the pay increases before the paychecks were issued, so there was no agreement regarding this pay situation.

Many of our members are unhappy with the contract, so ratification was not guaranteed. However, now that the district has increased our pay, we have been told that if the contract is not ratified, the district will deduct the raises from our pay until we have bargained another contract.

Is this correct? The union had no knowledge of the pay increases before the paychecks were issued, so there was no agreement regarding this pay situation.

If there was no agreement as to the increase in pay, then it would seem you are only entitled to your old pay structure which both of you had prior agreed. Does this not make sense that you wouldn't be entitled to an increase in pay until both parties agreed to a new contract otherwise you are working month to month based upon the old agreement?

Old Contract Still Valid During Negotiations?

Thank you for responding.