Patent Infringement and Inducing patent infringement

Status
Not open for further replies.

helppsu

Hello,

I am hoping someone can help me out here.

I am an ebay seller, buying items from China and sell it online for a profit. Few days ago, I recevied a documentation stated I violate the patent infringement and a lawsuit has been filed.

The Law office is located in the CA, and it's a lawfirm with 150 employees, and I am a small business owner located in PA. I didn't know that the product is patented, and I only imported less than 50 units to the US, and only sold a handful of units online. It's very inexpensive products - Less than $5-10 sales prices.

I am very nervous right now, because I had never been sued for anything. I don't understand why a company would go after me for selling a handful of units, and I am not sure whether I violate the patent infringement rule as well.

I already responded to the law firm telling me I only imported this many , and sold this much, but the paperwork stated that I must file my answer or motion with the court within 20 days.

My question is - Do I need to hire a lawer to file the respond in court?
Also, How much can the Law Firm suit me for? 100,000 + or 1000+

Please Help the Ebay Seller.

Thanks,
PSU

1. Don't panic. That's the law firm's job - to scare your pants off into settling quickly, usually in their favor.

2. You may need an attorney and glad to refer as needed. I would first take a look at the letter and do a little research. Do they have a patent? Have they sued anyone before?