Corporate Law Partnership Dissolution With No Written Agreement

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andale

I am posting to implore the expert legal opinions in this forum to give me my legal rights and not rights:

I am an expert in the same day courier business in Texas. I had managed and operated 2 large courier services before I started my own.

The first company I worked for, we'll call them company 1, bought out the company I left them for, we shall call them company 2.

I didn't like that very much so I opened for business, taking 50% of company 2 customers. I needed a loan and had bad credit so I went into business with one of my drivers from company 2 "Phill" who was working at company 1 now but thought it was a good idea and would be able to secure a loan.

We agree in principal to be a 50/50 partnership. I become dispatcher/manager Frank becomes driver/courier.

4 yrs later Phill decides he "wants to dissolve the partnership"

I agree but insist we need a dissolution agreement. We agree to split customers and assets 50/50.

Initially we drafted a contract stating we would each remain "our company name" for 6 months is a restructured partnership, after 180 days Phil would have to change name and tax id. The contact also listed companies each of us would manage in the 180 days, after 180 days we own the accounts we have remaining.

After 180 days i keep name, tax id, phone#, website. I pay Phill $4,500.00 for the name.

Now I must say the contract was never signed because phil proved not to be capable of maintaining or managing a service of his own. On the day we were to sign the contract Phil lost the biggest account we had. I will not go into how he lost it but is has to do with him screwing up something very easy.