Obtaining green card through marriage

Sydney Dozois

Jurisdiction
Colorado
Hi!

My question:
Could a person face legal penalties against them if they continue to date someone that entered a green card marriage with someone else?

This is totally hypothetical. I am a prospective law student and am interested in immigration and this is a (dumb) question that I have.

Thank you!

Last edited:
Nope. People date criminals all the time with no negative legal outcome for themselves.

If she does anything further to help the guy in the commission of his criminal acts that changes things.

Hi!

My question:
Could a person face legal penalties against them if they continue to date someone that entered a green card marriage with someone else?

This is totally hypothetical. I am a prospective law student and am interested in immigration and this is a (dumb) question that I have.

Thank you!

Adultery is rarely prosecuted in the United States in this century. So, the person dating the married green card holder has little fear of that.

The person in the green card marriage with a piece on the side has not necessarily committed immigration fraud by keeping the piece on the side. Whether or not immigration fraud has been committed would be based on whether the marriage is a genuine marriage.

Hi!

My question:
Could a person face legal penalties if they date someone that entered a green card marriage with someone else?

Thank you!

If the marriage is (was) adjudicated to be a SHAM, it wouldn't be a lawful marriage.

Even IF the marriage had no HINT of illegality, what possible criminal penalties do YOU suspect the state or federal governments could lodge upon the parties for simply "dating"?

DATING
Dating is defined as to be romantically involved with someone.
An example of dating is two people seeing each other exclusively for six months.

The definition of dating is marking, assigning or recording with a date, or showing that something is typical for a certain time period.