Consumer Law, Warranties Nursing Contract Dispute

Status
Not open for further replies.

LLWaves

I am a nurse in California. I was employed by a company in California. I was asked to sign a contract guarenteeing me full time employment for 2 years, in return for moving expenses reimbursement. During my first year of employment, I was not given the opportunity to work full time. I was only given a percentage of my promised hours. I discussed this with management, and nothing was done to fix the problem. After my 1st year, I was forced to leave due to financial strain from lack of hours. I am now receiving notices from a Collection agency threatening litigation if I dont pay back the employment contract. Help!

After my 1st year, I was forced to leave due to financial strain from lack of hours.

Once you are in a contract, you cannot just walk away because the terms of the contract are not being delivered. What you should have done was talk to management about what was contracted and how it had materialized when you added up the hours in the year you had been working. If you were required to fulfill the contract terms to avoid having to reimburse back the company for the moving expenses, you should have also negotiated with them this issue before leaving the company. Unfortunately, all you can do now is to either negotiate with the collections company the amount or end up in litigation if you cannot agree on what to pay.

Thanks for your help! Wouldn't the contract be broken by the company? I did discuss with management the fact I was in a contract and that I needed to have full time employment as promised, several times. However, nothing was accomplished. So, technically, they could give me a day a week, and still hold me to the contract? Help!