Non-compete and Non-Solicitation blues

Raj208

Jurisdiction
Illinois
I have been working for a staffing/consulting agency for almost 5 years. I joined them out of an industry role and did sales for the first time. At that time, they had a startup feel and were led by 4 strong partners.I had a good stay and did very well. Generated very good margins for them and made them a lot of money

They recapitalized with a PE firm about a year ago. Since then, the CEO put in place was let go, and I reported to a total of 3 people over the year. This is in addition to some favoritism that surfaced as well as poor hiring choices that do not generate revenue as they should. Results went down but I kept on trucking. One fine month, 2 of my largest clients stopped buying due to some strategic initiatives and I had quite a few ends. I worked hard to build up my book of business and my sales activity was high. Our President sends me a fairly abrasive and negative email regarding my engagement and results. I walked in with my numbers and quelled the issue. However, it caused me to find another job. I found a place across the street that I fit in better with. They pay 2 - 3x more and run much smoother. Due to the loyalty to my previous employer, I did not ever think of leaving. This new firm provided an offer but it was contingent on me getting released from my "Non-compete" agreement.

Backstory. When the company recapitalized, I was provided with ownership shares (Class B not A). These shares start vesting after 12 months, equally for 60 months. As part of this ownership agreement, I was asked to sign a non-solicitation. However, it turns out that the old employment agreement (with a non-compete) was assigned to the new company when formed under the PE banner. The Non-compete restricts me from selling the same business in a 50 mile radius.