Consumer Law, Warranties Need some contract advice - is this fraud?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Knightmare

Hello to all. Just found this (what looks to be) wonderful forums and this is my first time posting. I have a problem with which I am hoping someone could give me a bit of guidance on (as I realize this is not true legal "advice").

I am a remodelling contractor in the central Florida area. We recently had a bad experience with a customer where we were "fired" from the contract because we were not able to meet their deadline (which they arbitrarily made, the written contract stated no specific finish date). The customer brought in a different contractor to finish the work we did not and to supposedly fix work we did not up to their personal standards. That part I was fine with as, hey, sometimes that happens. However, we still had an invoice payable for work done prior to us being dismissed in excess of $4000.00.

The home-owner stated that they would wait for the invoices from these other contrators to see what, if any, monies were then owed back to us (we were being "back-charged"). Again, that was ok by me since that is the way this business goes.