Natural Born Citizen

Status
Not open for further replies.

randyg45

I'm a layman; please be gentle lol... I hope this is the proper forum.

Donald Trump got me interested in the whole "birther" issue.

What kept me interested is that I cannot find a definition of "natural born citizen" from the federal courts.

The definition given by M. de Vattel in Law of Nations is the only one I can find that was available when the Constitution was written....

The definition assumed by most people who have commented on the issue seems to be "born in the United States"; but I do not think the Founders meant for an "anchor baby" to be eligible to the Presidency. In any case, Marbury v. Madison seems to me and at least one commentator :) to say that "citizen" and "natural born citizen" cannot mean the same thing: "It cannot be presumed that any clause in the Constitution is intended to be without effect, and therefore such construction is inadmissible unless the words require it".

So. Has SCOTUS defined "natural born citizen"? Any other court? If not, what's the best guess as to what the phrase actually means?

The definition you seek is in our constitution.
The supremes have not been called upon to further define "natural born citizen".

Here is the definition you seek, straight from the founders' mouths.

Article 1:
Section 1.5 No person except a natural born citizen, or a citizen of the United States, at the time of the adoption of this Constitution, shall be eligible to the office of President; neither shall any person be eligible to that office who shall not have attained to the age of thirty five years, and been fourteen Years a resident within the United States.

The term "natural born citizen" is not clearly defined, but we do have laws governing citizenship that can guide the interpretation.