My payroll (paycheck) was reversed for days I already worked, is that legal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mosullivan

I am an independent contractor in the state of FL who is paid a monthly salary of 80k per year and 3333.33 every 2 weeks.

I worked for an ERISA Consulting firm for 2 years as full time employee. On 12/14, I gave my notice that I was leaving the company. I worked through the payroll period (11/30 - 12/11) which was deposited to my account on 12/15/09. When I handed them my notice I offered to stay on to help out during any transition (to help any new employee) On the day I left, 12/14, I was told that they would contact me if they needed me. This morning (12/21) when I woke up and checked my bank account, I noticed that the funds for my previous payroll ($3333.33) were reversed and taken back out of my account. This was for days that I already worked (11/30/09 -12/11/09) before giving my notice. When I called and asked my employer why he did this, he told me it was "standard protocol" to withhold the last check, in order to do a final compliance check and that he may have me sign something to confirm I wasn't doing anything out of compliance. I am very suspect because #1 There are no compliance matters or issues and I don't think they are allowed to withhold my already paid compensation for some "compliance matter"

My belief is that he wants to have me sign a non-solicitation agreement to not contact his clients before paying my funds back. I don't think I should have to sign anything.

They are supposed to contact me within the next 1-2 days with this form to sign and I'd like to know the best way to handle. The couple people I asked about this matter told me that my prior employer's actions border on fraud and that I should demand payment and not have to sign anything.