My husband may have been wrongfully terminated

Amerkindream

Jurisdiction
Maryland
Sorry in advance about the length. I'm posting on behalf of my husband:

I worked as an engineering lab manager for a local community college, just over 2 and a half years. I carried out my duties in an exemplary manner according to all of my students, superiors, and employees.

During my tenure there, a couple of tragic events happened, including my grandmother sadly dying of cancer in the spring of 2018, and my father committing suicide later that summer, resulting in a flare up of my anxiety disorder. While my work was not as up to par as it once once, I still received a highly positive performance review during 2018.

Since I have to keep this relatively short, I had some issues with my performance and my supervisor placed me on probation twice over the past year. I was able to deal with both times successfully, but my supervisor had begun meeting with my lab staff behind my back to ask them how they felt about me.
These meetings made them uncomfortable and basically ruined the strong rapport I had formed with my staff.

Things came to a head on July 2nd, when a non-employee (volunteer) accidentally posted illicit material on Google Drive account that I created, and was discovered by one of my employees, who went directly to my supervisor instead of me, to inform him of the incident. Since I was no way involved in the posting of the materials, and the HR and IT department could not find any standing rules or duties I had broken as the manager of the drive, I was found to be not responsible, but had been placed on administrative leave for 5 weeks while they conducted their investigation. Upon being reinstated, I was immediately placed back on probation and my supervisor requested that I come up with a number of elements to be included in a new improvement plan, and my employment status was once again returned to "at will".