Alcohol & Drugs: MIP, MIC, Intoxication Multiple misdemeanors in 3 weeks

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steewurt5

I'm a resident in Colorado and a few weeks ago I received a misdemeanor "Interference/Resisting Arrest" charge and was given a ticket and court date. I was very drunk and didn't remember the interaction until I received the police report which detailed that I got physically and verbally abusive with the officers and was generally uncooperative to the point where it took both of the arresting officers to physically restrain me even with the handcuffs I had on. It also outlined that I refused to sign the ticket and was cussing and verbally assaulting them the whole time. They also have video of this.

About three weeks later I was driving after I had drank a bit and text messaging when I totaled my car against a parked car on a residential street. My original plan was to drive away and I even went so far as to changing one of my tires and driving about half a block away before I decided to call the police. They commented that given the circumstances it appeared that I had tried to flee. I admitted to drinking and texting and was brought to he station to undergo a sobriety test. The officer never breathalyzed me or took my blood and I passed the field sobriety test; however, he told me that I failed the eye test and he knew I was impaired but decided to let me off with a DUI warning, instead issuing me a "Careless Driving" and "Misuse of telephone while driving" ticket and let me go.

My lawyer advised me to get my rap sheet and all of my police reports and things before court and I found that I have a prior "Disorderly Conduct" citation and I'm on probation for a "Noise Violation" ticket. Basically I'm wondering what sort of penalties I'm looking at.