MsProSe

Status
Not open for further replies.

ProseBoo

I have an issue. I am a pro se litigant, as I cannot afford to hire an attorney. Everything was going well, until 2 of the 5 defendants could not be located. It took me several months to locate them, as they were trying to evade it. Once I located them, I sent by certified mail, their copies of the court complaint. I realized weeks later that I had not served them properly, in that I forgot the summons. I was in the process of doing that when I was notified that they answered the complaint, including as one of their affirmative defenses that they were not properly served.

I am wondering how I can remedy this situation, so that the case is not thrown out of court for this blunder. My brain has not worked correctly, since my hospitalization for meningitis last year. WHen I filed the original complaint, I made other errors, that I believe can be fixed with an ammendment, but the not serving them properly seems to be the biggest issue that I do not know how to fix.

Can I go ahead and send proper service to their attorney?

HELP!!!!!

Last edited:
I've looked but still am unsure if I can still send it correctly, now that they have answered the complaint.

You might want to get a lawyer's help then. You might be able to get a free or low cost lawyer from your local legal aid society or local law school if you have one in the area.

Unfortunately, over the last few months I have reached out to legal aid, went to clinics and called a LOT of attorneys for help. I am low income and have no money. I can find no help, which is why I am reaching out here.