motel resident rights

shannondd

Jurisdiction
Oklahoma
I am employed by a motel at which im also a resident i never see my paycheck they put it towards my room all of a sudden they are saying that we may have to start moving out every 28 days is this legal?

I am employed by a motel at which im also a resident i never see my paycheck they put it towards my room all of a sudden they are saying that we may have to start moving out every 28 days is this legal?
What do you mean "start moving out every 28 days"? Do you get a pay-stub?

They said that we might have to start moving out every 28 days so we are not considered residents and no i never have recieved a pay stub only sign my time card.

You might wish to do two things.

Contact the state agency that oversees law:

Oklahoma Department of Labor - Home

The arrangement you describe MIGHT have some legal difficulties which could be to your advantage.

I am NOTsaying it is illegal as I don't know enough (nor do I wish to know more) details, but it might be worth your time to ask the fine people at the state agency I posted above.

The reason you must check out every 28 days is to keep you paying state and local taxes on your room occupancy.

It also allows the hotel to avoid eviction if they want you booted.

As a hotel guest a hotel can simply have the police remove you if theywant out.

The Oklahoma Residential Landlord/Tenant Act does not apply to "transient occupancy in a hotel, motel, or similar lodging." 41 O.S. § 104. The Act does not specify how long a guest must stay before he/she is considered a tenant rather than a transient occupant. If a guest is considered a tenant, the hotel must give the tenant five days' notice before beginning eviction proceedings.

In Oklahoma, are guests exempt from hotel tax after they have stayed for over 30 days if there was advance notice that the stay would be for over 30 days?