Massage Therapist - Contractor or Employee?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gabodykneads4

I've read all over the net to try and answer my own question but now I'm more confused....here is my situation:

I am a licensed massage therapist in Sarasota, FL (right to work state)...I work at a day spa and am paid 55% commission plus my tips...I believe when I was hired that I filled out a W-4....my paychecks are paid every 2 weeks and it shows that I have taxes taken out

The spa supplies me with a room and massage table sink and CD player (I don't use)...washer/dryer and detergent...sheets are available but not in good condition. I have to use Pevonia (product name) for scrubs/wraps but this is the only product that is provided for me to use (and required for me to use) for these two services

I supply all products used (oils, creams, hot stones, sheets, bolster, table warmer, essential oil, ipod and speakers, candles)

I am expected to be there 28+ hours a week. I receive health insurance and the spa pays for half of insurance. The spa does not pay or reimburse me for my products. The is a receptionist that take appointments and handles payment of services. (We had no receptionist for over 3 weeks and I ended up doing it...now I'm training the new hire). The Spa does very little advertising and there are not many clients. The Spa expects me to take the cut if a service is given at a package deal even if I did not agree to it (or in most cases assumes I will take the cut so that the spa get this client). I'm also expected to clean bathroom, take out trash etc if it need to be done. I'm also required to wear black/white clothing (as uniforms). There is not a clock to clock in and keep track of hours at work and we have not Labor Laws posted anywhere in the spa (I thought that this is required to be posted somewhere, but I could be wrong)