K Visa Marrying a U.S. citizen

Status
Not open for further replies.

cocoharley

I've been in the U.S. since 1999 on F-1 student visa. I'm in my last semester of graduate school and am waiting for OPT (Optional Practical Training) approval. I've also started my job search process. My boyfriend, a U.S. citizen by birth, and I are thinking of getting married. We're hoping that I'd be able to stay here permanently and that the marriage would increase my job prospects (without the potential employer having to worry about sponsoring me), which would in turn benefit the both of us financially (with both of us being able to work legally without restrictions). Of course, those are just fringe benefits and not the main reason we want to get married. We figured since we'd be getting married eventually anyway, we should get married while I'm still legally permitted to stay here.

We've found quite a bit of useful information on the U.S. Department of State and the USCIS (United States Citizenship and Immigration Services) websites, although most of what we've found pertain to bringing somebody to the U.S. (and I'm already here).

The only information we've not able to find is specific information regarding the Affidavit of Support that my boyfriend would have to eventually sign. My boyfriend only works part-time (he's been unable to find a full-time job that pays enough) and would probably not be able to "prove" that he could provide financial support for me until I become an American citizen or can be credited with 40 quarters of work.

Our questions are: Can my boyfriend's parent(s) be my co-sponsor(s)? They will have no problem proving that they can support another person financially. If they can't, what options do we have?

Any other information or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.