Drug Crimes, Substance Abuse Marijuana possession charge with valid medical recommendation

P

parad0x

Jurisdiction
California
I'm a student at UC Santa Cruz. I live on campus, and was attending the annual 420 celebration held in a meadow on campus. I was not participating, as I had work shortly after, but did have a 1/2 oz, a pipe, and a grinder in my bag along with my medical recommendation. The group I was with was approached by campus police and we all received tickets for possession of marijuana (H&S 11357(b) - possession of less than 1oz) and the officers confiscated everything. When I presented my recommendation, I was told it didn't matter and to bring it up in court. Another person in the group, who had about 3g, was given the same ticket, but his was marked as an infraction, whereas mine was marked as a misdemeanor. If I am convicted of a misdemeanor, I am at risk of losing my financial aid. Since it was on a college campus, I'm not sure what to expect in court- if it will be dropped to an infraction, why mine is a misdemeanor while someone else who possessed an amount in the same category (<1oz) received an infraction, or what showing the judge my medical recommendation (which has been valid for months before the incident) will do to help my case, if anything. What am I looking at here?