Manipulative Mother as Executor; my attorney turned on me

Status
Not open for further replies.

BeneficiaryInNV

Short Version:
1. Sociopath mom wastes estate money as POA [I am POD/ sole beneficiary]
2. Estate in probate court, to appoint mom as executor & sell the house [last estate asset]
3. Need advice!
*POA-Power of Attorney while decedent is living, POD-Pay On Death on accounts

Long Version:
My great grandmother passed away in December of 3002 at the age of 94. I had been caring for her for the previous 2 years (I am 21 years old) and battling my mother the entire time. My mother neglected her care, wasted her finances, cashed in her life insurance policies and annuities, and let others in the family have free access to her ATM & check card under the supposed protection of ‘legal power of attorney’. She lied her way through an investigation by social services, and at the time of my great grandmother’s death, the bank account was overdrawn.

My mother fought me on filing any paperwork after her death; 3 months in I finally went to speak with the attorney who wrote the amendments to the trust (listing me as the sole beneficiary) about what to do. I was told if I pursued any action against my mother, criminal state and federal charges would eventually be filed against her. Additionally, we found that no trust deed had been filed, so we would have to probate; with no money I would have to sell the house (where I currently live) to pay the estate costs. I opted to petition to be the executor, and leave the rest alone. My attorney told me she would first attempt to have my mother sign the paperwork and we could be done with it. My attorney at the time was advised of my mother’s sociopathic personality and assured me she would have no problems dealing with her.