International Divorce

Status
Not open for further replies.

LisaJane

My husband is a Canadian citizen, and I am an American citizen. We were married in Louisiana back in 2004, but lived together in New York. He was abusive, and I separated from him (physically, but not legally) in 2007 when I moved for graduate school. He returned to Toronto, ON. We have no assets to speak of, and no children.

In 2008, I started dating someone & asked my husband for a divorce. I stopped dating that person, and in June of 2009, my husband and I began to file paperwork (without legal aid) for a no-contest divorce in NY state. But he "accidentally" destroyed part of the paperwork, which halted that process. In September of 2009, he simultaneously moved in with his new girlfriend and told me that he wanted to get back with me. We toyed with the idea for a few months, but he continued (and continues) to live with his girlfriend in Canada. I am still a NY state resident, and now want a complete divorce.

My question is:
Could I divorce and request alimony? I am a full-time student, and he works full-time... but I worry that because I initially requested the separation and that we had already began to file a no-contest divorce it might not work.

Also, even if I were granted alimony, would he be liable to pay it-- since he lives in Canada and all.

Thanks.

It's unlikely you would be awarded alimony based upon the length of your marriage and if by some chance you are, it would likely be very short term.

If you're a student, you may - as unfair as this might seem - need to put your studies on hold until you can support yourself.

To answer your other question, if you did obtain a support order, Canada is usually actually rather good at enforcing foreign domestic orders.

Thanks for the quick response, Proserpina.

I am supporting myself--just barely--as a student.