Independent Contractor vs Employee

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darren

I have a few questions on independent contractor vs employee. I have read through
the 20 points the IRS has for classifying this issue, but I am having a hard time
concluding which way the IRS would view my situation.

I am a guitar teacher and work for a music store teaching lessons. 95% of the business of the studio is from lessons, there is very little retail or other services offered. They attract and manage the students and receive their payments, arrange scheduling etc. The owner interviewed me directly and set the rate for my compensation. The owner dictates when teachers get raises. The studio does not withold any taxes and I receive a 1099. I was given my own room with my name on the door and I am not allowed to teach
studio students anywhere else but at the studio. The room is furnished with a white board, guitar amp, and desk. I use my own guitar, cables, and books. I teach the same students each week and have given her a schedule of when I will be there and when I will not. The term for my work is indefinite. I am allowed to take time off when I choose, provided I give a weeks notice. However, I cannot contact the students or parents directly to schedule or for any other reason, but instead must go through the studio . Most of the teachers there do not teach outside of the studio, though I do. I have a business name, though I am the
only person associated with the business. They pay me by my name and not by my business name and we receive payment twice a month.