Naturalization, Citizenship Immigration Question ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcoa70

i have a question on how to apply for citizenship, my parents were married in 1969 in mexico, my father is a us citizen and my mother has mexican citizenship, when i was born my father regestered me here in mexico, all thou i studied in the us till high school, i have never applyed for citizenship, because my parents seperated after i was born, and havent any contact with him.
What can i do to apply for citizenship ?

It depends on a lot of circumstances:

-how old are you
-where do you live now?
-were your parents married when you were born?
-where were you born?
-is there any way you could find your father?

Responce

Im 34 years old, and living in mexico, and no i have not been able to get in contact with my father, thay were married in mexico in 1969 and i was born in 1970 in mexico, both my parents registered me in mexico, my birth certificate stats that my father registered me.

You write that your birth was registered with the Mexican authorities. Try to find out if your birth has also been registered with the American consulate in Mexico, on form FS-240. If yes you are lucky, that document will serve as proof of your citizenship.

If you don't know if such a report has been filed you might request a copy of the report from the State Department on form DS-1350. If no such report exists they will tell you, but let's hope very much that it does.

Here is how to obtain a DS-1350:

OBTAINING COPIES OF THE FS-240, DS-1350, AND PANAMA CANAL ZONE BIRTH CERTIFICATES
The DS-1350 or a replacement FS-240 can be obtained by writing to:

Vital Records Section
Passport Services
1111 19th Street, NW, Suite 510
Washington, D.C. 20522-1705

A written request must be notarized and must include a copy of valid photo identification of the requester. The written request must include:
(1) full name of child at birth (plus any adoptive names)
(2) date and place of birth