I'm in serious trouble

Status
Not open for further replies.

IWasWrong

Due to a physically and emotionally abusive situation at home, I did something absolutely stupid.

I work for a big department store, and I rang up fictitious returns and refunded the money to my own personal credit card to use to pay for groceries, car problems, etc. ($22,408.00)

Today when I went into work I was called into a room with 2 "fact finders." They had all the evidence they needed on me, copies of the transactions, video tapes, etc. I was terminated from my job and told that criminal charges would be filed against me.

I was not arrested today but was told I would be called when a warrant was issued for my arrest and my best bet would be to turn myself in.

I'm a college student. Out of the $ that I took, I barely have $1000 left. I don't know what to do. I can't turn to my parents, as they are the ones who cause the physical/emotional abuse and I've called my best friend and asked her to keep her cell phone on her so that she can post bail when I'm taken into custody.

I know the charge against me is a felony. I have no previous criminal record or any idea how criminal cases work.

I know I can't afford a lawyer, but since I do live at home, I don't know if I will be allowed to have a court appointed one either. Criminal lawyers are going to cost over 5 grand from what one told me and she also said none offer payment plans or anything. I don't know if thats true, I will begin to call around in the morning, after I look for a new job, but please, any and all advice would be appreciated.

If anyone can offer any advice, I would appreciate it all.

Oh yeah, I signed an agreement to pay back the entire sum of $, beginning with a payment of $100.00 which I gave them today. I was told to make sure to keep making payments until it goes to trial, as it will look better for me.

I don't know if this makes any difference or not.