Business Contracts I'm a contractor

Status
Not open for further replies.
E

emtcee1973

Hoping someone can advise me. Here's the story.

I was contracted to do work in a woman's house.. The jist of the work was to jack up the floors in several spots and add girders,this was back in June 2013. I got a text message from her saying "we need to talk about the work you did in my house". Basically she had someone come in and do mold remediation and these guys said I didn't do the work properly then she hired them to "FIX" what I had supposedly did wrong. Now, in my contract I have a 1 year warranty on all work that I perform so if there is any problem I would come back and fix it at no cost. She didn't even give me the opportunity to rectify the "PROBLEM" she went right out and hired someone else. Does she have any recourse against me? I can't see how she would given the fact that I wasn't offered the chance to satisfy her. FYI, in ten years of business I've never had a problem with any clients. I live in New Jersey if that makes a difference.The way I see it is if there was a problem she should have picked up the phone and contacted me. I appreciate any response.

Shooting Herself in the Foot!

EMTCEE1973 . . .

The answer is a resounding NO! She does not have any claims against you for exactly the reason you have offered in your post, the proper rule of law for which can be found in the Remedy section of the Law of Contracts under Providing Notice and Opportunity to Cure.

Well, she did not provide you with either a notice or opportunity to cure the (alleged) defective work before moving to either terminate the contract or commencing action, and has therefore left herself without any recourse, that is of course if she was considering any action against you, which by the sound of things she is not.