Student Loans I told them to repo my degree

Status
Not open for further replies.

MissNe

I went to a public, state university for my undergrad. I majored in something silly. I am apart of the "do what you love, butterflies, unicorns, blah blah" generation. Lies.

I have student loan debt I cannot afford bc I cannot find a job with actual income.

I looked into expanding my horizons via a local, public, community college. I was interested in a trade program. I was told that, because my degree is over five years old, I would have to start completely over. English comp. College algebra. Everything. My core classes are null and void.

So, I have a useless degree, which is "expired," and I still owe $33k, while making $9/hr. If my degree were a car, I would sell it or voluntarily turn it back in.

I realize it is completely conceptual, but would it be feasible to tell SallieMae, and her pit bulls, to "repo" my degree? Give up all ties, claims, affiliations to my former university in lieu of debt? Never again be able to say that I went to the University of such'n'such just to get Sallie Mae out of my life. My 21hrs of English is no longer recognizable by a community college (which only requires 6hrs of English lol), so what good is this 128hr degree actually doing? Take it back.

Not gonna happen. Whether you can use it or not, you took the classes and got the degree. You owe for it.

Maybe you need to check around with a few more colleges/departmental advisors. I got my 30 year old freshman comp credits from a junior college in my state accepted at a four year institution in a different state in the past year. :party:

You still owe the money for your degree though boyzgrrl gives you a good suggestion to see if your degree might be accepted elsewhere.

It's now legal for the student loan collectors to take 15% of social insecurity benefits.
Sadly, there's no escaping them until you die.