Home owner backs into my tools

jesse98178

Jurisdiction
Washington
Hello,

I am a general contractor in Seattle, WA. A job I was doing was going great until the home owner backed into my tools in her garage. They were in the place she told me to store them. Now she is withholding the final payment saying she is taking 800.00 off the final payment for the scratch on her car. She went on a trip and I communicated with her husband on paint colors etc. She says his name was not on the contact so he was not authorized to make any decisions and she doesn't like the color therefore she wants to take off another 500.00. Can I sue her for the final bill or would she have a case in court?

Can I sue her for the final bill or would she have a case in court?

Yes, you can sue her.
She will be able to assert some form of defense.
Will she prevail?
Maybe, maybe not.

Sometimes it is better just to walk away and be thankful you got a couple slices of bread, even if you didn't get a loaf of bread.

That is the call YOU must make.

This might be an easier solution for you, MECHANICS' AND MATERIALMEN'S LIENS:

Washington requires the "Claim of Lien" to be delivered to the Owner within 14 days of the date of filing. The Claim of Lien can be delivered by certified or registered mail, or by personal service.

Washington law requires that a mechanics lien be enforced within 8 months from the lien's filing.
Make sure the law allows YOU to do this, that might mean proper licensing, written contract, insurance, bonds, etc...

Make sure you read EVERYTHING (and understand it before proceeding) before doing anything:

Building Industry Association of Washington - How to File a Lien

Washington Mechanics Lien Law: FAQs and Free Forms

https://www.lni.wa.gov/IPUB/625-017-000.pdf

Chapter 60.04 RCW: MECHANICS' AND MATERIALMEN'S LIENS

Can I sue her for the final bill

Sure. Anybody can sue anybody for anything. If your real question is can you win, I'm leaning toward yes.