1. Free Legal Help, Legal Forms and Lawyers. TheLaw.com has been providing free legal assistance online since 1995. Our most popular destinations for legal help are below. It only takes a minute to join our legal community!

    Dismiss Notice
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lizard217

    Lizard217 Law Topic Starter New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Jurisdiction:
    Texas
    I was issued 2 tickets one for expired vehicle registration and one for no insurance. They were issued 04/2001... 17 years ago, I'm 44 yes old now and can't work due to being under Dr.'s care i have lupus, fibromyalgia and other medical issues. So I have no money to pay but I desperately need my dl. I have called 100's of times and tried going to the municipality where the tickets were issued no answer no help. I have even written a letter to judge begging to take the tickets off, they were 17 years ago! Any advice or suggestions??
     
  2. adjusterjack

    adjusterjack Super Moderator

    Messages:
    6,861
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Trophy Points:
    113

    What do you mean by "tried going"?

    You either went or you didn't.

    What do you mean "no help"?

    If you walked in the door there were human beings to talk to.

    What were you told that you needed to do to clear your DL?

    If it's pay up then, no, you'll never get your DL back if you have no money to pay it.

    My son has the same problem. DL suspended for unpaid traffic ticket that was $150 when he got it. Never has two nickels to rub together. It's now close to $400 and will keep growing until he pays it. It's going on 3 years now.
     
  3. KatDini

    KatDini Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    246
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Driving is a privilege, not a right. The State can take away that privilege and make you pay to regain it. Bureaucrats will not feel sorry for you, they won't take pity on your situation.

    Beg, borrow, cut down on luxuries (including internet/cell/cable TV, etc) or sell items to get the money to pay the fines and reinstatement fees.
     
    hrforme likes this.
  4. mightymoose

    mightymoose Moderator

    Messages:
    10,547
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Trophy Points:
    113

    After this long you might be able to pay the cutation at your local DMV.

    If you are holding out for someone to dismiss your fines because they are old it just won't happen. If they did that why would anyone ever pay their fines?
     
  5. army judge

    army judge Super Moderator

    Messages:
    30,822
    Likes Received:
    4,355
    Trophy Points:
    113

    Reinstating a license revoked for NO INSURANCE is complicated and expensive.
    Texas DPS doesn't bend or fold, because its unfair to the drivers who maintain insurance.

    TEXAS DPS does offer certain assistance and/or waiver programs, read on to learn about them.


    The Driver Responsibility Program establishes a system that authorizes the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to assess surcharges to an individual based on certain traffic offenses that have occurred on or after September 1, 2003. Individuals are notified by mail each time a surcharge is added to their driver record. Surcharges are in addition to other fees and do not replace a suspension, revocation, denial, disqualification or cancellation resulting from the same conviction.

    Surcharges are assessed in two ways:

    Point System, and
    Conviction Based.
    Individuals who have both points and convictions reported to their driver record will receive separate surcharges for each offense; a surcharge for the points and a surcharge for the conviction(s).

    DPS contracts with an outside vendor (Municipal Services Bureau - MSB) to collect surcharges. This vendor is legally authorized to charge individuals the following service fees in addition to the surcharge.

    A service fee of 4 percent of the original surcharge amount.
    An installment plan fee of $2.50 for each partial payment.
    A credit or debit card fee of 2.25 percent of the payment plus $0.25 (except where prohibited by law).
    An electronic check fee of $2.00 for each payment.
    Individuals are mailed notification of surcharges to the address on record with DPS or to the most recent forwarding address on record with the U.S. Postal Service. The letter will include:

    The amount of the surcharge and other collection fees, and
    Information on how to pay.
    Payment of Surcharges
    A customer has 105 days to meet any of the surcharge program payment options or their driver license will be suspended. The individual's driving privileges will remain suspended until the Department receives one of the following: an installment agreement, or all surcharges and related costs are paid in full, or upon acceptance into a reduction program.

    Please visit Municipal Services Bureau (MSB) Driver's Responsibility Program or call 1-800-688-6882 and speak to a Program Specialist for more information about Advance Payment.

    The Indigency Program TxDPS - Indigency Program waives the amount of surcharges owed for individuals who have incomes at or below 125 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.

    The Incentive Program TxDPS - Incentive Program reduces the amount of surcharges owed for some individuals who have incomes above 125 percent and below 300 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.



    A summary of additional features and requirements of this program are:

    All surcharges assessed are eligible for a reduction.
    Under the Indigency program the surcharge amount owed is waived.
    Under the Incentive program the surcharge amount owed is reduced to 50 percent.
    Customers are still required to pay the full amount of all other applicable fees.
    Once approved for a reduction under the Incentive program, the individual must pay the reduced balance in full within six (6) months. All surcharge suspensions will be lifted during this period. If the individual does not pay the balance in full by the due date, their driving privileges will be suspended until the reduced balance is paid in full.
    To learn more about program eligibility requirements, poverty guidelines, or the application process, visit www.txsurchargeonline.com or call (866) 223-3583.


    The Court Ordered Indigence Program waives all surcharges related to a particular conviction that occurred in a particular court, provided that the individual proves indigence to the court. Please note: If an Order is received from a court other than the one where the conviction occurred, it will not be accepted.

    You have a few options, but MUST jump through hoops.

    Good luck.
     
  6. zddoodah

    zddoodah Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,111
    Likes Received:
    643
    Trophy Points:
    113

    Called whom 100's of times? What does "tried going to the municipality" mean? As "adjusterjack" noted, you either went or you didn't. Also, where in the municipality did you go? The tickets were presumably written by a police officer or sheriff's deputy. Did you go to the police or sheriff's station or somewhere else? In any event, driver's licenses are issued by the state, not any municipality. If you blew off dealing with your tickets a bazillion years ago, then the place to go is probably the courthouse.

    Of course, you told us that you "have no money," so I'm at a loss to understand how you think you're going to be able to take care of the tickets or get your driver's license back. Those things will cost money (as will a car and registration and insurance and gas).
     
  7. Lizard217

    Lizard217 Law Topic Starter New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I say "tried" it's as I've done all I know how to do. The ticket was issued by a police officer. This place doesn't have a jail or police station. "They" is the people that I encounter when I walk into their little office. I asked for a copy of the ticket a year ago, haven't gotten it yet. I don't just sit here and twiddle my thumbs. Some days I don't even get out of bed! And regarding having money for a car ect...my mother and father are 80 years old. My father is willing to give me my mothers car and pay the insurance so that I can take her or myself to Dr. Appointments. You guys are rude! I understand I messed up. I thought this was for advice or information, not to be "judged"
    I don't have any luxuries, I don't even have a flat screen TV. I still use a converter box. I get free cell phone service because I qualify for food stamps. My parents pay my utilities till I can get SSI. I'm not looking for pity
    n
     
  8. KatDini

    KatDini Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    246
    Trophy Points:
    63
    So, you asked for a copy of a ticket written nearly SIXTEEN o_O years ago. Good luck with that.


    You're looking for something, but you're not getting it. You have been given the answers that are possible. Not the forum's problem if you don't like the answers.
     
  9. army judge

    army judge Super Moderator

    Messages:
    30,822
    Likes Received:
    4,355
    Trophy Points:
    113

    .............................
     

Share This Page

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.