help I got ripped off on ebay

Status
Not open for further replies.

poorchoices

I bought a world of warcraft account on ebay. I've been playing it for about 3 months now. A few days ago I tried to log in and the password was changed. Then I tried to do the password recovery thing and the email was changed too. I sent an email to the guy I bought it from yesterday asking what was up and didn't get a response. So, I sent another and told him that he has one week to give me either the account of my money back or I'm going to file fraud charges with paypal and contact the authorities.

I just got an email from him. He closed his paypal account and I guess his ebay account got suspended shortly after I bought the account from him. He says that he doesn't know anything about why the password and email have changed on the account. I told him I didn't believe him.

He says there's nothing I can do anyway because Blizzard is the owner of the account not me or him and all he was selling me was the information I used to log into the account. He said that it's not fraud because he sent me what I bought in the auction which was the log in and password for his account and because the character on the account was exactly what it was in the auction. He still denies that he was the one who changed the password and stuff.

So I read on blizzards website about the rules for world of warcraft accounts and it does say that blizzard owns the accounts and that the only person who has rights to the account is the person it was originally registered to. It is true that everything he advertised in the auction was true about the character and it didn't actually say that I own the account or anything...it just said that the winner of the auction gets an email with the log in information. He has proof that I got that email too...because I replied to it and my email puts all the previous messages at the bottom. So I can't say that he never sent it to me...