Harrassment, discrimination, or just unfair?

Status
Not open for further replies.

zoe60

I am not certain where my situation falls - I am a 48 year old woman with 19 years at the same job. I am able to retire soon.
My current employer became unhappy with me about 1 1/2 years ago. I had never had a formal evaluation, always had positive feedback regarding the program I administrate.
My boss (new about 2 years ago) is best friends with an employee. Apparently some private information regarding myself and my family had been discussed. My boss has harrassed me about this information repeatedly. I made some changes to my work schedule and habits as my boss requested. He has told me he is aware of the changes I had made.
I had surgery in December, recovery took 8 weeks. On my first day back at work I was brought into a meeting with the director of HR and my boss. I was told I had to sign in and out of work from this point on (I am not an hourly employee, I am a salaried administrator). I have been doing so every since. I recently asked that this practice stop. I was told the administration would like to see me continue to sign in and out of work.
My boss clearly favors my employee and would like to see her in my place. She is younger then me, but I don't know that its age discrimination. I really think I am just not on the "good" list.

Somehow this attitude and belief that I am a poor worker spread among the administration and I am now in a very difficult situation.
Is this harrassment?
Discrimination?
Is it legal?
Thank you
Zoe

Unless any of this has taken place because of your age or because you took medical leave (assuming it fell under the FMLA), then it's not harassment, discrimination, and it's all legal.

1. What reason were you given for having to sign in and out of work when you returned from leave?

2. What private information about you/your family is the boss "harassing" you about? It may not be pertinent but I won't know until you advise what that is.