Greedy Angry Landlord

Status
Not open for further replies.

tico

Dear Forum,

I hope this post isn't too long though I wanted to provide the relevant context. Since I'm not a legal professional it is hard to determine what is legally relevant and what isn't. Anyway thanks in advance for reading.

My roommate and I have been renting from a friend (well soon to be former friend) for a little over 3 years. Initially this was a very good setup since it was very convenient for us and the landlord was desperate for someone to occupy his condo since he was carrying two mortgages (hint: if you get the impression that your potential landlord is short on money then proceed with caution). The landlord asked only for nominal rent and a flexible term lease with no security deposit since, in his words, he "trusted us".

Around the same time, the landlord was busy with personal business and told us to move in and we would later conduct a move in inspection, which, by the terms of the lease, was to be signed by both parties. This never happened. So while we don't have a copy neither does he. We did make our own list of what was wrong and the landlord verbally apologized for the condition of a piece of carpet. We logged these comments in a word document over time with the approximate dates.

Anyway things were going well until the last few months when we started getting collection calls intended for the landlord (or someone in his family) thus we started getting the sense that his finances weren't in order.

We had a dispute over an appliance repair bill with the landlord claiming that
our negligence had produced the problem when in reality it could have been caused by any number of problems. Additionally he demanded (Actually screamed) that we sign a new 12 month lease ! Sensing financial desperation at the root of this we turned in our notice to leave.