Got a question.

Discussion in 'Use of the Law Forum & News' started by Missouri2012, Mar 25, 2016.

  1. Missouri2012

    Missouri2012 Law Topic Starter Guest

    Hi. I was wondering how much money someone would have to take for it to be considered a felony?
     
  2. adjusterjack

    adjusterjack Super Moderator

    Messages:
    6,663
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Trophy Points:
    113

    Class C Felony if:

    The value of the property or services appropriated is five hundred dollars or more but less than twenty-five thousand dollars.

    Maximum Penalty: imprisonment for up to 7 years, fines up to $5000.

    Class A Misdemeanor if:

    Under five hundred.

    Maximum Penalty: up to 1 year in jail, and a fine of up to $1000.

    But there are variables.

    See:

    Section: 570.0030 Until December 31, 2016--Stealing--penalties. RSMO 570.030
     
  3. army judge

    army judge Super Moderator

    Messages:
    30,427
    Likes Received:
    4,138
    Trophy Points:
    113

    In addition to the peaceful, the surreptitious taking by burglary, the violent taking by force or with a weapon, or the attempt to take so much as 1¢ would also be a felony.
     
  4. Highwayman

    Highwayman Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    512
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I won't assume your user name has anything to do with the location you are asking about. In cases like this you need to specify what state you're talking about.

    Also, in the future please post in the correct place. This area is not for legal questions.