Fraud, Embezzlement, Bad Checks Fraud Charge

Status
Not open for further replies.

jdalfred

I am a contractor for the State. I have worked there for 6 years. In trying to prove that the State could save money by Selling the older equipment rather than giving it to a seperate entity I did something I now know was dumb. I setup an Ebay and Paypal account (using my State email). Snapped a couple pictures of a couple things we were sending to SWAP. I didn't try to hide it, as a matter of fact I talked about it to a couple co-workers and an elected official. I actually thought I would get an (atta-boy) for showing that they could actually make a decent profit. Well someone who didn't like me reported it. A couple investigators came to my appartment and questioned me about it. I let them look around my appartment. I had one of the items in my appt.. I normally do have it at home anyway to do upgrades and testing. I had nothing else that I wasn't suppose to have (ie.. Blackberry, laptop-assigned to me). A week later the detective called and said that the State was sending the report to the County DA's office. No money was ever excepted for the items. One of the items I had loaned out to another department for a week (the week after the auction stopped).

I do not have a record. 1 speeding ticket in the last 7 years.

Should I get a lawyer? I am now unemployed and don't have the money. I am sole parent of my daughter in her senior year of high school.

Do I have a right to get a copy of the report sent to the DA before I get a summons?

You didn't commit a crime. The most they could consider would be attempted embezzlement. I would wait to see what the DA does. I doubt they will do anything. Check back with us when the DA does one thing or the other. I wouldn't sweat it right now. You might get an Affidavit or two from friendly coworkers that will back up your story and get together any proof that you were doing what you were doing.