Other Debt fraud by a bad check

Status
Not open for further replies.

tinalilly

I was just called yesterday (from Oregon) I live in Ohio, about a check that was written over 7 years ago. They say I will be charged will fraud by deposit and some other things. The check was a little over a hundred dollars and they say I need to pay over $500. for this not to have a warrent filed against me. I think this all had happened around the time I had major foot surgery. I have no clue. I am raising and have custody of my granddaughter and no job at the time, I am a full-time student and she is telling me I need to call my case worker and tell her everything and to call her back today to let her know when I will pay the monies. Please some help me is this real or am I being scammed?

I was just called yesterday (from Oregon) I live in Ohio, about a check that was written over 7 years ago. They say I will be charged will fraud by deposit and some other things. The check was a little over a hundred dollars and they say I need to pay over $500. for this not to have a warrent filed against me. I think this all had happened around the time I had major foot surgery. I have no clue. I am raising and have custody of my granddaughter and no job at the time, I am a full-time student and she is telling me I need to call my case worker and tell her everything and to call her back today to let her know when I will pay the monies. Please some help me is this real or am I being scammed?

I suggest you Google the number that you were called from, the name the caller used, the name of the company or organization) that called you; and make your own determination.

Here are some guidelines I use in my everyday life:
First: I never discuss anything over the telephone. If someone wishes to tell or ask me anything, I ALWAYS tell them to send me written correspondence by US Mail.