Fraud, Embezzlement, Bad Checks Four bad checks from employer bounced

ragnarock

Jurisdiction
New York
I worked as a consultant for a very dishonest person who now owns a very large piece of property and is doing business on Long Island. This person wrote four bad checks to me for services rendered. They are each between $2,000 and $5,000. So I sent notice and he didn't accept it each time. I think his house is in the name of his wife and I don't know if he is claiming residence there either.

I was able to find out more about him and it seems he has been sued before a couple of times for a lot more money. I asked a lawyer about suing him and he said you will probably never be able to collect. You'll have to find the right address to serve him properly. Even if I win it will cost a lot of money to find his information to get money. This is because his businesses are not under his personal name. And he knows it probably isn't worth the time.

I really don't want this person to do what he did to me to do it to anybody else. I'm sure he is. I heard that writing bad checks is a crime. I would definitely report him and at least make him responsible for what he did and probably still doing. Who would I report it to? And is there any hope for me to sue him for the bad checks and not be a total waste of time?

I really don't want this person to do what he did to me to do it to anybody else.

Nothing you do will ever prevent him from doing it do anybody else.

If you sue, you sue for your money. That's it.

Who would I report it to?

Start with the police in the city where he or the property is located.

is there any hope for me to sue him for the bad checks and not be a total waste of time?

Entirely up to you.

Begs the question, though, why would you continue performing services after the first check bounced?

Fool me once, shame on you.
Fool me twice, shame on me.
Fool me four times, I'm an idiot.