FMLA discrimination

Status
Not open for further replies.

jnjohnson

I have been working for a local hospital for 6 years. Over two years ago in February, I had to have sinus surgery to prevent recurrent sinus infections. Then, two years ago in May, I had routine gallbladder surgery after a three-day hospital stay for a gallbladder attack. I woke from the surgery with constant chronic pain. Over the past two years I have had numerous procedures and in March 2007 they finally found the cause of the pain. I was taken off work for a couple weeks prior to surgery and then returned to work two weeks after this extensive surgery feeling better than ever. However, because of the constant chronic pain, they had tried several long-acting pain medications to control the pain and the only one that worked without horrible side effects was methadone. Now that the pain is gone, I have been weaning off the medication. At first it was easy, but the lower the dose got, the worse the side effects got. I wake up every single night with aches and pains that feel like I have the flu or arthritis. My limbs jerk severely and I can't lie still. I wake up every morning vomiting and hurting from my head to my toes. Despite this, I have made it to work for at least 4 hours every day. The thing is, when these side effects start up again at work, I get a pins and needles feeling through my entire body and my hands go numb. I am a medical transcriptionist, so it is hard to type when you can't feel your hands.

Today I was called into my new supervisor's office under the guise of discussing the issues at hand and how much time I had left of my wean. When I got in there, I was ambushed by the manager, a human resources representative, and my supervisor. Despite being on FMLA and having numerous medical documents supporting my absences, I was informed that if I miss any day, if I am even one minute late for work, or if I don't make up time from scheduled doctor appointments, I will be terminated.