Fired while on med leave for on the job injury

Status
Not open for further replies.

cynthiasmi

I have been working here for two years. I got a lumbar sprain. I have been to three different drs. I was fired to days after being hospitalized for my injury. I was granted unemployent, But was advise to file workmans comp. The company is still holding my last paycheck. 640.00 I then recieved this email from my old boss

" I received a call from Hartford Insurance regarding a claim you placed for workmens comp. I was not aware of such a claim and I do not like surprises. I in good faith told you I would not fight your umeployment claim but you have not acted in good faith. The fact that you called workmens comp shows me that you have not turned over all company documentation and paperwork. I personally have your paycheck. If I have not received needed info by April 1, 2007, I will seek whatever legal remedies my attorney advises"

Do I have grounds for wrongful termination.

I'm sorry to hear about your injury and hope you get better soon.

I'm a little confused. It seems you filed a workman's comp claim after being terminated. From what you are telling me they knew about your injury. Did you not report it? What paperwork have you not turned over? Additionally, I'm wondering if your old boss is insinuating that you were fired with some cause... is that the case? Why would they fight your unemployment claim?

I agree with the last reply that based on your message there appears to be additional causes behind you being fired. It never hurts to learn your options from an attorney. I recommend contacting a local attorney