Hello
  1. Free Legal Help, Legal Forms and Lawyers. TheLaw.com has been providing free legal assistance online since 1995. Our most popular destinations for legal help are below. It only takes a minute to join our legal community!

    Dismiss Notice

felon possesion Weapons, Guns, Firearms

Discussion in 'Criminal Charges' started by reddragon77, May 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. reddragon77

    reddragon77 Law Topic Starter New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have 2felones from over 13 years ago uumv haven't had any since no violent or drug whatsoever i own my home been married 13 years and i take care of my wife witch is disabled and i feed drive shop and makesure she takes her bipolar meds witch is very inportant i alsopick all her meds and foodup.am i looking at time n jail and if soisthere somthing i can ask forand pursue to stay avaliable tomy wifes needs
     
  2. Betty3

    Betty3 Super Moderator

    Messages:
    6,967
    Likes Received:
    290
    Trophy Points:
    83

    You really need to talk to a criminal lawyer & follow his/her advice. (see what he/she can do for you) We don't have complete information re your felony possession.
     
  3. army judge

    army judge Super Moderator

    Messages:
    35,603
    Likes Received:
    6,343
    Trophy Points:
    113

    You are quite possibly looking at prison (not jail) time.

    However, you are innocent UNTIL proven guilty.

    The problem for someone in your position, is you are a convicted felon.

    It is unlawful for a felon to possess any firearm except:

    If the offense was declared to be a misdemeanor, at the time of judgement, by the court.
    If the offense was for possession of marijuana and the conviction was prior to January 1, 1972.
    If the person was convicted of only one felony under the laws of Oregon or another state, or under U.S. law, and it did not involve a firearm or switchblade knife, provided the person was discharged from imprisonment, parole or probation fifteen years before.
    Where the individual has been granted relief from the disability under Oregon or Federal law, or the person's record has been expunged.

    As a convicted felon, you are barred from touching, much less owning a firearm for life (except as noted above).

    If you were popped as a felon in possession, in Oregon (as with most states), that almost always means prison time.

    This is your state's sentencing grid (guidelines). I suggest you study it, and discuss it with your attorney.

    http://www.oregon.gov/CJC/docs/GuidelinesGrid.pdf

    https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2013R1/Downloads/CommitteeMeetingDocument/4259

    http://www.oregon.gov/CJC/Pages/SG.aspx

    Generally speaking, my sources say that Oregon metes out 24-48 month sentences for "felons in possession", but each case is different.

    I also hear that you can get between 4 to 5 years.

    So, plead not guilty, stay out of more trouble, say nothing to anyone but your lawyer, wait, and follow your lawyer's advice.

    That stuff about your home and family will be of little value in avoiding prison time.

    Here's why:

    A person released from prison, is instructed and made to sign about five different pieces of paper acknowledging that they understand you are not to EVER own or be in possession of a firearm.

    Therefore, you can't claim you didn't know.

    I know, sometimes those tiny details are annoying.

    But, they hold everyone accountable later for knowing the law.

    Here is a link that discusses the law under which you appear to have been charged.
    If you had one prior felony, it might not be headed to a prison sentence, assuming you are convicted.
    But, you have two priors.

    http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/166.270
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2013

Share This Page

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.