feeling helpless..dont know what to do.

Status
Not open for further replies.

cind

2 days ago I had a tramatic experience at work. I was a manager at a dollar general store but I quit my job because of this incident. At about 7:00 pm, my cashier was at lunch (they only have the budget to have 2 people work at night so I was told) A customer approched me and whispered that a man was in the back isle with his pants down , pooping. I was shocked and went to the isle and actually saw the man with his pants down and saw the poop fall out of him. He just looked at me like he was taking a walk in the park. I ran to the front, grabbed the phone and called the police. The dispatch said they had no available officers to assisit me and put me on hold for over 10 minutes. meanwhile people were leaving the store with their children and I felt very afraid and threatened. (The man was about 400 pounds and over 6ft tall and I am 115 pounds and 5ft tall) The dispatch came back on and said he was sorry but all officers were busy and put me back on hold. He never came back on the line and I hung up after about 20 minutes. I called my boss ( the actual store manager) and she said wow, well Sorry..gotta go. No one would help me, not the police, not my boss, not anyone and all I could think about is what if that man had attacked me?? I am tramatized , I can not get that image of that man out of my head, and the way he looked at me scared me to the point that I was a nervous wreck. Is there someone who can help me. I may be effected by this for the rest of my life. I called a lawyer in this town and they didnt know what to tell me either. I guess there is just no help for me and I may never get another job again because of this. I mean if you cant even count on the police to help you then what good are they. I just want to stay inside my house with the door locked .