failure to yield to stationary emergency vehicle

M

mnorris0206

Jurisdiction
Washington
I was cited in Washington State ( 46.61.212r) failure to yield to an stationary emergency vehicle. I was traveling on a highway with two lanes in each direction when I saw flashing lights ahead. As I approached I did slow down though the officer said I didn't and as I approached the State Trooper started wailing his arms at me which totally shocked me. I did not change lanes though my wife says I moved over slightly upon seeing the officer waving arms. I did not feel I moved completely over because I was startled by the waving of arms which hindered by decision making. I did not even know you had to yield to a stationary emergency vehicle. On another note, when the officer got in his vehicle and caught up with me, the first thing he said to me was "What are doing, trying to run me over? Being a very cautious driver, I was astounded by the accusation. How do I beat this or at the very least reduce the fined

I was cited in Washington State ( 46.61.212r) failure to yield to an stationary emergency vehicle. I was traveling on a highway with two lanes in each direction when I saw flashing lights ahead. As I approached I did slow down though the officer said I didn't and as I approached the State Trooper started wailing his arms at me which totally shocked me. I did not change lanes though my wife says I moved over slightly upon seeing the officer waving arms. I did not feel I moved completely over because I was startled by the waving of arms which hindered by decision making. I did not even know you had to yield to a stationary emergency vehicle. On another note, when the officer got in his vehicle and caught up with me, the first thing he said to me was "What are doing, trying to run me over? Being a very cautious driver, I was astounded by the accusation. How do I beat this or at the very least reduce the fined

You don't BEAT traffic citations.