F-1 student charged with B misdemeanor

shapre

Hi I'm a college student from the Cayman Islands and I was charged with a B misdemeanor (attempted theft of property). I will petition to have my record conceal in a few days which according to my lawyer is likely to get approved. Now I'm aware that this misdemeanor is consider an act of moral turpitude which can lead to inadmissibility; but there are exceptions which is if you are under the age of 18 and/or if the maximum jail time for the act is under a year, which is where I think this does apply to me. I was just wondering will I be granted acess back into the U.S. in August although my lawyer has reassured me that I should be admitted into the country.

I would think your lawyer or USCIS would be able to answer that with more certainty than we can.

Hi I'm a college student from the Cayman Islands and I was charged with a B misdemeanor (attempted theft of property). I will petition to have my recorf conceal in a few days which according to my lawyer is likely to get approved. Now I'm aware that this misdemeanor is consider an sct of moral turpitude which can lead to inadmissibility; but there are exceptions which is if you are under the age of 18 and/or if the maximum jail time for the act is under a year, which is where I think this does apply to me. I was just wondering will I be granted acess back into the U.S. in August although my lawyer has reassured me that I should be admitted into the country.

There is no way a bunch of strangers on the internet that know nothing about your case can properly advise you.
You have retained a lawyer, heed his advice, or hire a new lawyer.
Otherwise, you can consult the US Agency that will ultimately decide if you are allowed to reenter the US or not.

www.uscis.gov

Bon chance....