employee or indepentant contractor and more

Status
Not open for further replies.

rev72

I am a massage therapist in Illinois. I started working at a salon about five months ago. The owner made me sign a contact that states that I have to be there 40 hour a week and I get paid a 60/40 commision, or I can pay $400 a month rent. My question is am I an employee or indepentent contractor. I do not have a key to the business and all the advertising that has been done for me is under her businesses name. She makes the majority of my appointments. She supplies the massage table the oil heater and the hydroculator and heat pack. I do supply my own lotion and sheets though. When I first started there, she told me not to give out my phone number anymore, just use the salons phone number. Then she collects the money for the massages and pays me when ever she feels like it. Then she ran advertising for the salon and takes what ever amount she wants to take out that week for advertising even though I did not agree on some of the advertising that she has done. And in the phone book ad that she is charging me for it just has the name of the salon not my name. Then she is always leaving me at the salon by myself, so I have to be there so I can answer the phone for her and take her messages and make some appointments for her.
And she did not inform me and the nail tech that they were going to be totally tearing up the road in front of the salon and as a result makes a lot of noise and stop traffic from getting to the salon. And she is always smoking in the room next to the massage room, which causes the massage room to smell like smoke all the time. So am I an employee or indepentant contractor and can she have a not compete cluase in the contract, and what can I do?????:confused:

Originally posted by rev_72: