Eithics of reusing source code

Status
Not open for further replies.

footpad

Greetings,

I have been programming for many years now and have developed a number of utilities, algorithms, techniques and other chunks of code during that time.

Most of this work has been performed while employed as a full time employee of various organization.

Should I worry about trying to reuse code from projects written for previous employers, even if my current employer is not in the same line of business?

For example, I currently work for a biomed that's developing a database application. Since the bulk of my career has been related to databases, I have a number of "toolkit" style solutions in my archives, stemming from my previous work for consultants, software publishers, and even work-for-hire project.

If, for example, I have a good solution in my archives, am I safer (from a legal standpoint) to simply reinvent the wheel and perhaps improve it in the long run or should I do as all good programmers should and evolve my personal "kit code" into an appropriate solution for the tasks at hand?

Is there a threshold or a rule that I can apply to determine my level of risk?

Thanks in advance....

P.S. I assume that my previous employers own the general copyright on my code, however, given the recent decisions regarding the reuse of articles written as works-for-hire, I wonder what (if any) the implications might be.

P.P.S. I like and work in WA state, is that makes any difference.

I can not give you legal advice on this [Mike, where are you? :)] but if I were in your position I would definately reuse my own code and build on it, rather than starting from scratch.

Thought I don't know much about code, would think it would fall under the laws of intellectual property. A little digging found me this: