Does Congress lack the power to regulate the sale of insurance?

R

RudyPotPie

Jurisdiction
US Federal Law
I'm being told by an attorney that Congress lacks the power to regulate the sale of insurance.

My research (I'm not a lawyer) indicates they leave insurance primarily to the states, but Congress may regulate insurance if they desire.

I'm getting to that by finding US v. South-Eastern Underwriters Association, in which the SCOTUS said the Commerce Clause gives Congress the authority.

He sites McCarran-Ferguson, which seems to say Congress subsequently indicated what aspects (most) of insurance regulation would be left to the states and what would be federal, but doesn't seem to limit Congress's own power to regulate if they so desire. He said M-F makes US v. SEUA a "dead letter."

He insists his background as a constitutional lawyer makes his opinion correct, and that I can't possibly understand.

But it seems to be that if Congress wanted to enact changes in healthcare (or any other sort of insurance) tomorrow, they likely could.

Am I all wet?

Am I all wet?

If that's your only question, the answer is yes.

Congress enacted Obamacare because it could. Congress can repeal Obamacare and replace it because it can. That doesn't change the right of the states to regulate insurance to the extent they are already doing so.

A discussion (that you hope to foment) on the issue would be a waste of time. So let's not.

Article 1 Section 8 of the Constitution defines the limited powers of Congress. In it you will not find mention of insurance, but you will find authority to regulate commerce among the states and authority to provide for the general welfare of the states- which both must be completely bastardized to justify the Affordable Care Act or any replacement of it (which is what has happened).