Harassment, Stalking, Misconduct Disorderly Conduct charge

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bamavet

I am a disabled veteran...therefore I do not sleep well at night. I stay up and watch television. I have a normal tv with no theater surround or anything. My neighbor whose bedroom window is only about 20 feet from my living room window complains of the noise. The main reason he is doing this is because he tried to by the property I live on from my landlord and my landlord refused to sell it to him because he knew I needed a place to live.
I have been served summons to civil court for the charge of disorderly conduct which is section 12a-11-7 of the code of alabama but the charge reads as follows that I intentionally engaged in disorderly conduct with the intent to cause public inconvenience, annoyance or alarm
I have also had a warrant sworn out for my arrest and was able to bail myself out.

My question is this...how can you be charged with a public charge in the privacy of your own home. Also, I have to have the INTENT to do harm...which I do not.

This neighbor is being harrassive in nature due to the fact he is only doing this because he doesnt want me to live here.

Intent is an element of each and every crime.
Some crimes have specific intent, others have implied intent.
Generally, this is referred to as the actor's 'mens rea'.
Some crimes are wrong by their very nature, murder and rape fit that category.
This is called 'malem in se'.
Other crimes are bad because society says they are prohibited, speeding and disorderly fit this classification.
This is said to be, 'malem prohibitem'
If you were disturbing the peace with a loud tv, the intent is built into the act.

Your charge seems to be civil in nature, rather than criminal.
You are innocent until proven guilty.
The state must now prove their case.
If I were you, I'd move my tv, use earphones, insulate my bedroom better, or move away.
But, I'd also defend myself against the instant charges.