Defamation in church?

Status
Not open for further replies.

YoungPastor

Here goes, thanks in advance to anyone who can point me the right direction.

I'm a young pastor, working as a part time youth pastor while finishing a doctorate. While my ministry has been fairly successful, and I have lasted nearly five years in a church that had fired or defrocked their past two pastors, I have been controversial in some decisions and, as what happens in any religious community, some get upset, etc. This is part of working in a church and I expect that.

One family that had given me a hard time over the past few years finally put into writing their feelings about me in a letter to the primary governing body of the congregation, mostly about theological inaptitude and incompetence in work. I know that the first is an opinion and the second is laughable at best and easily disproven. When the church body reviewed the letter (I was not allowed to see it beforehand) they concluded the same and verbally responded to, or are responding to, the writer of the letter.

No one seemed to take the letter this way, but I read the letter having a nuance of accusation regarding sexual inappropriateness in conversation with minors. (Perhaps I should mention that I am trained as a sex educator in the congregation and we teach a religious sexuality education class in the church.) I don't think this was the point of the letter, but it was implied in the letter.